On June 2, 2014, the Center for Competitive Politics files a complaint with the Senate Select Committee on Ethics against these nine senators:

Charles Schumer, Democrate from New York

Richard Durbin, Democrat from Illinois

Carl Levin, Democrat from Michigan

Michael Bennett, Democrat from Colorado

Sheldon Whitehouse, Democrate from Rhode Island

Al Franken, Democrat from Minnesota

Jeanne Shaheen, Democrat from New Hampshire

Jeff Merkley, Democrat from Oregon

Tom Udall, Democrat from New Mexico

The complaint details actions these individuals took to pressure the IRS to investigate organizations that opposed their party’s views. According to Ethics Committee rules, “The Committee shall promptly commence a preliminary inquiry… of such duration and scope as is necessary” to discover whether the people in the complaint violated the Senate’s rules.

The complaint cites nine Democratic senators, or about one in six of the sitting senators from that party.